

## 2020 Xavier University of Louisiana Chemistry Department Awards

## **Service to the Department**

Awarded to students who exhibit outstanding service to the chemistry department and the larger chemistry community

Jessica Anderson	Blaine Derbigny	Chelsea Giroir	Ashley Mello
D'Netria Bledsoe	Jenelle Devry	Lauryn Gist-Reed	<b>Brealand Pendleton</b>
Melody Davis	Destiny Gary	Justin Lupoe	Sam Smith

#### **Course Awards**

Awarded to the outstanding student in each chemistry course

General Chemistry Award	Madison Smith, Rachel Wallace	
Organic Chemistry	Bria Ward	
Quantitative Analysis	Breyanah Graham, Ted Holmes	
Physical Chemistry for Life Sciences	Ashley Mello	
Physical Chemistry	Trang Nguyen	
Inorganic Chemistry	Jackie Bova	
Biochemistry	Breyanah Graham, Karen Osei-Boamah	
Metabolism	Chassity Brandon	
Advanced Biochemistry	Spring 2020 Class	
Genomics and Proteomics	Ashley Mello	
Drug Design and Synthesis	Jessica Anderson, Trang Nguyen	
<b>Drug Design Using Computational Methods</b>	Maura Crook	
Molecular Structures and Organic Synthesis	Michaela Crawford	
Synthesis Laboratory	Alexis Day	
Undergraduate Research	Denise Cayton, Blaine Derbigny,	
	Najah Dixon, Melissa Hoang,	
	Cuong (Calvin) Nguyen, Ly Tran,	
	Ayanna Williams, William Winchester	

## **American Chemical Society Division Awards**

Awarded to students based on a displayed aptitude towards a branch of pure or applied chemistry through scholarly research and coursework

ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Award	Amani Hardy
ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry Award	William Winchester
ACS Division of Organic Chemistry Award	Blaine Derbigny
ACS Division of Physical Chemistry Award	Melissa Hoang

### **XULA Chemistry Departmental Awards**

Awarded to students based on academic achievement, leadership, and service

#### Dr. Leonard J. Price Rising Star Award

Awarded to outstanding junior chemistry majors based on scholastic achievement

-Karen Osei-Boamah-

-Samirah Muhammad-

#### Dr. J. W. Carmichael Future Physician Award

Awarded to an outstanding senior pre-med major based on scholastic achievement

-Michaela Crawford-

#### **ACS-Louisiana Local Section Award**

Awarded to the outstanding senior chemistry major in the department

-Ashley Mello-

#### **Royal Society of Chemistry Award**

Awarded to two outstanding graduating chemistry majors based on scholastic achievement in the field of chemistry

-Taylor Dent- -Cuong Calvin Nguyen-

The following 2 awards are considered the Department's highest honors and are awarded to graduating senior chemistry majors.

#### The American Institute of Chemists Award

This award goes to an outstanding senior majoring in chemistry, chemical engineering, or biochemistry. The award is given on the basis of a demonstrated record of leadership ability, character, and scholastic achievement.

-Jessica Anderson-

#### **Dr. Peter Paytash Award**

This award, named for the former Chair, Dr. Peter Paytesh, is awarded to a student for extraordinary service to the department and scholastic achievement in chemistry.

-Ashley Mello-

#### **Other Honors this Year**

## **ACS Outstanding Student Chapter Award**

**Xavier University of Louisiana** 

# Phi Lambda Upsilon Chemistry Honor Society Honor Cord Recipients

Jessica Anderson	Taylor Dent	Ashley Mello
D'Netria Bledsoe	Blaine Derbigny	Cuong Nguyen
Jonah Brown	Angel'Niqua Dixon	Brealand Pendleton
Michaela Crawford	Destiny Gary	Erin Seay
Alexis Day	Gregory Hodge	Mariah Williams
	Ly Tran	

## **2020 ACS Certified Degrees**

-Alexis Day- -Elizabeth James- -William Winchester-